INDIA'S FORGOTTEN WAR – blogging naxalism.

Indian Forest Cover

with 3 comments

A recent story is making the rounds on twitter. From the Indian Express:

Survey blames Naxals for decline in forest cover

India’s overall forest cover has declined by 367 sq-kms in the past two years despite a few states actually expanding their forest areas. The net loss is mainly on account of Naxalites destroying close to 200 sq-km of forests in Andhra Pradesh, a government report said in Tuesday

I wanted to respond to the ‘survey’, but googling it only led me nearly identical articles in all of the other Indian English papers. For example, there was this in the Hindu.

My recent work has been looking at state expansion into adivasi areas and how this expansion has been structured around forest ‘protection’. Naturally, this piece caught my interest. On the surface, it seems like a psychological anti-Naxalite move on the part of the government (as it’s difficult to believe that the Maoists can be blamed for deforestation in any significant way). But, I can neither find the report nor do the various articles provide a link to the journalist who wrote the piece. Curious.

If any reader knows more, I’d be grateful to hear from them. Inquiring minds want to know. Please email me. michaelspacek@gmail.com

UPDATE:

I’d like to thank the people behind http://naxalrevolution.blogspot.com/ for the email I received this morning. They sent me a copy of the report: http://www.fsi.org.in/sfr_2011.htm

I’ll take a look at it and post my response this weekend.

Written by Michael

February 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am currently working on a comparison between the nationalism of Bose and the British collaboration of Ghandi. I believe the Naxalites and the present conditions endured by the Dalit are a direct product of Ghandi winning. He had a love for the British system and it did its best to maintain the caste system.

    Jim McBride (@stateside)

    February 28, 2012 at 2:22 am

    • I think it’s a bit simple to blame India’s contemporary social/economic/political conditions and its consequences on Gandhi. His legacy viz a viz the dalits is problematic, but there’s a lot more going on here.

      Michael

      March 1, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  2. here is the proper email


Leave a Reply

